obamaI am not a political person.  I don’t watch the news (unless you count the Daily Show and The Colbert Report.)  I rarely read newspapers or  news-related  websites.  I have enough going on in my life without being constantly innundated with negative information.  But this year I often tuned in to CNN, MSNBC and Fox News and checked CNN.com and MSNBC.com.  Why? I can tell you in two words  – Barack Obama

Barack Obama’s candidacy for the President of the United States FINALLY got me interested in politics.  I’ve always voted for President, but I tend to have little confidence in politicians in general.  It’s always been kind of “the lesser of two evils” thing for me.  But this time was different.  This time there was a candidate for the Democratic nomination, then the Presidency, who was saying something that I actually wanted to listen to.  Obama’s campaign even inspired me to read his book, “Dreams from My Father,” which had sat on my book shelf for over a year.

Barack Obama ran on a platform of change, and not just change, but positive change.  Change designed to benefit the majority of Americans.  This intrigued me.  So when I saw Obama on TV, I paid attention.  When I heard his name mentioned, I paid attention.  I talked about the candidates’ campaigns with friends.  Obama hadn’t even won yet and I had already been changed! 

As the months went on and Obama’s battle against  Hilary Rodham Clinton went on…and on..and on..I began to lose interest.  I just wanted it to be over already!  But then he finally won the Democratic nomination and I had a renewed inspiration.  On November 4, 2008, Barack Hussein Obama II became the President-Elect of the United States of America.  I am STILL in shock.  Up until the very last minute I had my doubts that it could really happen. 

So now it’s time for Phase II.  What happens next?  Will Obama stand by his promise of change?  Will the American citizens support him as he works to repair some of the damage that has been done to this country over the past eight years?  I truly hope so.  There’s a part of me that will always believe that politicians say whatever they have to say to get what they want.  I think it’s just the nature of the beast, even if you are an inherently good person.  So we’ll see.  Maybe Obama will change my mind about that too.  After all, he got me to watch Fox News….

