I can appreciate the magic of beautiful skin (and of makeup) as much as, if not more than, the next person. But beauty is more than skin deep. I believe in the beauty of helping others. Whether it’s via money, time or talent, it’s important to give back.   Nonprofit organizations are the glue that hold the world together.  They fill in the gaps with missions that address issues ranging from abused women and children to wildlife rescue. 

Below are organizations that I have been involved with via volunteering.  These organizations have missions that are near and dear to my heart.  I am not always able to give of myself as much as I would like to, but I definitely try to stay engaged in my volunteering efforts – life permitting.   Whatever issue is near and dear to you, whatever you believe in – I encourage you to find an organization that focuses on that mission, and do something. Like I said, whether it’s money, time or talent  – I’m sure your effort will be greatly appreciated.  

dfs_logo_618x86 Dress for Success‘ mission is  to promote the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life.

 

dcrcc1DC Rape Crisis Center is dedicated to creating a world free of sexual violence. The Center works for social change through community outreach, education, and legal and public policy initiatives. It helps survivors and their families heal from the aftermath of sexual violence through crisis intervention, counseling and advocacy.

                                                                    

nstreetN Street Village empowers homeless and low-income women to claim their highest quality of life by offering a broad spectrum of services and advocacy in an atmosphere of dignity and respect. The Village also provides affordable rental housing for low and moderate-income individuals and families.

